Cultural Night at Mission College: Lots of pictures

I love how Daron lay out the text (and the selection of font) for the Cultural Night Powerpoint.

I love how Daron lay out the text (and the selection of font) for the Cultural Night Powerpoint.

Yesterday night was the Mission College’s GRAND Cultural Night. About 14 items were presented throughout the more than 2-hours event at the Kiti-Tasanee Auditorium.

I swear after doing Newsbyte for more than 2 years, the whole reporting POV just sticks with me. Most of the times, it’s unconscious. Haiyoh, dangerous dangerous!

Anyway, the Mission College Social Committee hosted the MC Cultural Night yesterday at the auditorium. The cultural night is one of the events that you truly do not want to miss at Mission College.

And in my opinion, the standard of performances has truly gone up. Many agreed with me.

As usual, Thailand was the first act. The student on the right is my ex suite mate, Maggie. I believe she performs Thai traditional dances since her high school days.

As usual, Thailand was the first act. The student on the right is my ex suite mate, Maggie. I believe she performs Thai traditional dances since her high school days.

There are 14 items presented yesterday. I couldn’t capture all performances as the DSLR was acting up (I despise taking pictures at night). So yes, you will come across pictures with awkward flashes and blury-ness. Sorry lah ah.

This is historic because I believe this is the first cultural presentation from Korea. They sang this popular song (as I was told), which is a soundtrack from 2006 movie award-winning 200 Pounds Beauty. You could hear everyone go "Maria!"

This is historic because I believe this is the first cultural presentation from Korea on campus. They sang this popular song (as I was told), which is a soundtrack from 2006 movie award-winning 200 Pounds Beauty. You could hear everyone go, "Mariaaaa!".

The Vietnamese. I just love their ao dai (name of their traditional costume). I couldn't take my eyes off their colorful costumes! Beautiful dance, by the way.

The Vietnamese. I just love their ao dai (name of their traditional costume). I couldn't take my eyes off their colorful costumes

Oh my, one of my favorite cultural performances has got to be the Africa group. Man the music was just so catchy. Ivonne and I were close to boogeying, haha. They had a Powerpoint where they introduced the different countries in the Africa continent. I DIDNT KNOW EGYPT IS ONE OF THEM!

Oh my, one of my favorite cultural performances has got to be the Africa group. Man the music was just so catchy. Ivonne and I was close to boogeying, haha. They had a Powerpoint where they introduced the different countries in the Africa continent. I DIDNT KNOW EGYPT IS ONE OF THEM!

The Malaysians danced Tarian Joget this time. I'm glad to see the new Malaysian students involved.

The Malaysians danced Tarian Joget this time. I'm glad to see the new Malaysian students involved.

Laotians had frangipani on their right ears while they danced (nice addition!). I wonder if it's their national flower. They also invited some audience to dance with them.

Laotians had frangipani on their right ears while they danced (nice addition!). I wonder if it's their national flower. They also invited some audience to dance with them.

My other favorite performance, the Indonesians! They performence a dance from Acheh and MAN it involved lots of (increasing) speed, repetition and coordination. Kudos!

My other favorite performance, the Indonesians! They perform a dance from Acheh and MAN it involved lots of (increasing) speed, repetition and coordination. Kudos!

Imagine repeating this formation continuously as the speed increase. Gila I tell you.

Imagine repeating this formation continuously as the speed increase. Gila I tell you.

The Cambodians did a fusion of modern song (has a rap tempo going on) and traditional dance. It was not catastrophic, phew! They involved a lot of Khmer students, so that's really cool. I'm big in involving people as much as possible. That way, every person has a chance to take part in a big event!

The Cambodians did a fusion of modern song (has a rap tempo going on) and traditional dance. It was not catastrophic, phew! They involved a lot of Khmer students, so that's really cool. I'm big in involving people as much as possible. That way, every person has a chance to take part in a big event!

See what I mean by fusiong traditional dance? By the way, I believe they made the Khmer traditional instruments (far right) out from styrofoam! It's good to know that students put in extra effort for that wow factor. Good job!

See what I mean by fusing traditional dance? By the way, I think they made the Khmer traditional instruments (far right) out from styrofoam! It's good to know that students put in extra effort for that wow factor. Good job!

Bollywood, bollywood. Although they were few in number, they managed to shake the audience up (lots of cheering). Look at Dustin and his jeans, hehe.

Bollywood, bollywood! Although they were few in number, they managed to shake the audience up (lots of cheering). Look at Dustin and his jeans, hehe.

Look at Upashna whamming it up, woo hoo. She's a MA student and part-time ESL secretary.

Look at Upashna whamming it up, woo hoo. She's a MA student and part-time ESL secretary.

The Japanese group presented something really strong. Unfortunately, I didn't know what it was and didn't finish watching it because we were next! Ah, a group of us sang "Leaving on a Jet Plane" for Daud who was leaving in a few hours. A surprise act. It was quite emotional.

The Japanese group presented something really strong. Unfortunately, I didn't know what it was and didn't finish watching it because we were next! Ah, a group of us sang "Leaving on a Jet Plane" for Daud who was leaving in a few hours. A surprise act. It was quite emotional.

After the event, everyone rushed to the stage and took group photos. Here's the Chinese group with other groups.

After the event, everyone rushed to the stage and took group photos. Here's the Chinese group with other groups.

Look at that Malaysian flag.

Look at that Malaysian flag.

Kudos to the those who organized this event. I’m sure it took a lot of effort, time, and Panadols to pull this off. The audience really loved it – you could hear from the constant cheering (screaming to a certain extent and not forgetting the irritating whistling) from one performance to another.

Oh a realization hits – I’ve been attending Cultural night events at MC since 2002. Gulps.

4 responses to “Cultural Night at Mission College: Lots of pictures

  1. I didn’t know that Dawood left MC. Where did he go? What about Sendy?

    Wah!!! Siok oh I see the pictures….really lah, agree with you, the quality has went up, especially with our own country. And to see Korean and Japanese groups…their number of people are growing and it’s nice to see them performing =D Haiyah, I wish I was there to see this event. Really miss those time… =(

    I like the font lah….dunno lah, but it somehow reminds me of Daron’s shirt or was it somebody else’s shirt. The style macam sama ja. Hehehehe…=p

  2. Cultural Night – definitely one of the events that I really miss!! It’s good that you posted some pictures πŸ˜€

    Oh, btw Dee, I told you I received the alumni homecoming invitation, but I could not understand a thing because it was in THAI!! Haha! Anyway, luckily Juji’s was in English πŸ˜€ How I wish I could attend the homecoming, but the timing’s just not right this time (kerja punya pasal lah! hehe…)

    P/s: Keep up the cooking! πŸ˜€

  3. The background of the stage looks great! Must have been the works of MC’s stage artist. Would’ve wanted to see Korea’s cultural presentation.. and the Indonesians (I guess it’s the energy they bring that makes their cultural presentation something to look forward to). And of course.. from Africa! I love the rhythm they bring.

    By the way, where’s a picture of you and your group of singing buddies??

  4. +Zhe: Daud went back to Iran. Sandy’s still here. πŸ™‚

    +Ju: HALAMAK sorry dong about the Thai card. Ambil cuti sakit, haha jk jk! πŸ™‚

    +Tina: Bah you know lah who yang designed kan? πŸ™‚ Oh yeah man lots of energy going on the stage, woot woot! Alamak, I don’t have the pictures lah…Ohm Jelly put some in Facebook, but I look horrible over there! LOL.

Leave a Reply

