Fried Rice: #2 attempt

I cooked fried rice last week and it didn’t turn out the way how I wanted it to be. It was so tasteless.

So today, I decided to give it a second try.

Few pinches of Knorr mushroom cube, diced garlic (I had four cloves...I know I am crazy), CP Chicken Teriyaki, and butter as oil. Pepper is for after cooking.

Few pinches of Knorr mushroom cube, diced garlic (I had four cloves...I know I am crazy), CP Chicken Teriyaki, and butter as oil. Pepper is for after cooking.


This is what I did:
1. Put a small dollop of butter into the frying pan.
2. After the butter dissolved, put garlic in. Fry garlic until it changed color.
3. Put chicken teriyaki in.
4. Beat 1 egg into a bowl. Then pour egg into garlic and chicken teriyaki (I decided to put in the egg in the very last-minute. Hence, you do not see the egg in the picture above. I could photoshop it but haiyah never mind lah okay).
5. After egg is cooked, put in rice.
6. Put in pinches of mushroom cube all over the mixed ingredients.
7. After a few kacau-kacau and taste, turn off the fire and serve.

The end product:

The fried rice after 2nd attempt.

The fried rice after 2nd attempt. Oh, remember to put pepper in.

The verdict? This fried rice tasted SO MUCH BETTER compared to the previous attempt. Thanks to my friends for giving me suggestions on how I can improve my fried rice cooking, tee hee. I’m not really 100% satisfied with the fried rice though. Anyway, there’s always room for improvement!

What I have learned so far about cooking fried rice:
1. Seasoning is VERY important. (I put small pinches of mushroom cube…I think I need to add MORE so that it’s more tasty).
2. Frying egg BEFORE putting the rice into the pan is a wise idea.

You might be wondering why did I use butter instead of oil. This sounds silly, but while chopping the garlic, I envisioned butter. Hahahaha. Well I couldn’t really taste the butter anyway while eating the fried rice (I think it’s because I put a small amount of butter. Hmm what would happen if I put a bigger amount…).

I plan that for the next fried rice, I want to put in vegetables. I didn’t put in this time because I ran out of greens! 🙂

7 responses to “Fried Rice: #2 attempt

  1. Keep up the good work, Dee! You’ll figure out new ways of improvising (what to add and what not) as you go on experimenting. The greens is a must 🙂

  2. ehehehe…mari kita mengadakan upacara masak masak berirama…

  3. sorry lah my comments terduplicate…eheheheheh sot bah this computer here

  4. Thanks, Tina!

    Yabah Daron…let’s just have one lazy Sunday afternoon and masak berabis. For some reason, I’m thinking Ayamas Chicken nuggets. Punya sedap tue…

  5. Yays! We can cook when I go there! :p
    Ps: You’ve been tagged!!!
    http://shimona.blogspot.com/2008/10/ive-been-tagged.html

  6. I think it is a bad idea to look at your blog right before lunch. Now, I’m soo hungry.

  7. +julie: 555555555555555!!! 😛

Leave a Reply

