Deanna enjoys her Christmas holiday at sunny Kota Kinabalu

This is my second Monday in Thailand since I left home two Sundays ago.

My trip to home this time was so awesome. It was awesome because:
1. I spent more time with family.
2. I stayed home more.
3. I ate home food more.
4. And I was able to get/do some stuff that I really wanted.

Like getting a haircut. A short haircut.

Straight out from the salon, courtesy of my sis.

Straight out from the salon, courtesy of my sis.

I’ve always wanted a short haircut, but I dismissed the idea because I was afraid I’d look bad. I mean, take a look at my last short haircut, which was in Grade 9:

I'm on the left.

I'm on the left.

There’s a funny story behind that haircut. A childhood friend cut my hair at the back of her house. There we were, in the middle of her garden, I was sitting on a wooden stool, and she, tall, stood behind me for almost five hours on a Sabbath afternoon. I wanted to look like Posh Spice.

Hahahahahahahaha.

Anyway, I’m really glad the haircut turned out alright. My sis also cut her long locks – and she hasn’t had a short hair since Grade 5! She said “Well neither one of us are getting married or engaged anytime soon. So there!” OYES you go, Zhe Zhe Fie! 🙂

LeRon, Fiona and I at our home church in Sabah.

LeRon, Fiona and I at our home church in Sabah.

Like I said before, I really had a chance to spend more time with my family during this trip. For my first few days, I spent nights at home with my bro because my parents and sis went out for caroling. So that gave me a chance to bond with my bro – through WiiFit! 🙂 Now my brother is the 21st century kid – doesn’t play outside, likes to stay indoor, play computer games, bla bla bla. So when he tried out WiiFit, he was hooked. Everyday he did WiiFit and other Wiigames. There was one time I caught him jogging using WiiFit Aerobics, hehe that was a cool sight! He would also asked me “Zhe, tomorrow we exercise together ah.” Aww. 🙂

LeRon is quite a character.

LeRon is quite a character.

My mom replaced her students’ classes in the earlier months, so we really got to spend time together – whether it is going shopping (uhm yes we pretty much went to all shopping malls in KK), having Yoyo drinks or playing Boggle.

17

That’s us in the 1Borneo mall lobby. 1Borneo is supposedly to be the biggest lifestyle mall in East Malaysia.

Going back to Boggle, my mom bought it at Toys ‘R’ Us (well actually my sis pushed for it) and the whole family played it! I was really happy to see the glee on my dad and mom’s face, my bro playing a NON-computer game, and my sis and her awesome vision to catch many, many words that none of us even saw. My sis is cool ehehe. 🙂

The Majilangs.

The Majilangs.

I also got to meet up with my high school friends for a short bit:

SFC '01.

SFC '01.

and Tina and Julie. Oh this was so crazy we ate and drank so much of so many things within the span of 10 hours I kid you not.

Fiona and Tina waiing. We were at Mango cafe, a Thai restaurant in KK.

Fiona and Tina waiing. We were at Mango cafe, a Thai restaurant in KK.

Oh, courtesy of Julie’s camera ya.

Tree pose by yours truly and Julie ehehe. Uhm yeah I really like my skirt.

Tree pose by yours truly and Julie ehehe. Uhm yeah I really like my skirt.

So was this a well-spent holiday? YES Sireee! I’m very grateful for each of my family members…very, very grateful and also of my friends whom we still maintain close and good relationships. I needed the holiday and it has cured me in so many ways. I hope I keep up with my new-year spirit because I’m going to need it for my 2 assignments that is due at the end of this month! 🙂

There’s more of my KK trip (I mean, I haven’t talk about FOOD yet), but it’s past 10 pm and it is one of my aims to try and sleep early.

I’ll leave you with some upcoming treats:

Wan Tan Hor/Mee Basah - One of Deanna's must-have Chinese food when back in KK.

Wan Tan Hor/Mee Basah - One of Deanna's must-have Chinese food when back in KK.

Deanna's make-over shelf (transformed her boring shelf to be a place that invites light, happiness, creativity and beauty.

Deanna's make-over shelf (transformed her boring shelf to be a place that invites light, happiness, creativity and beauty.

This is Kitisak, our (only living) family cat since forever, bidding you a good night!

This is Kitisak, our (only living) family cat since forever, bidding you a good night!

7 responses to “Deanna enjoys her Christmas holiday at sunny Kota Kinabalu

  1. EKEKEKEE…. you and fie so cute lah! Go short hair also must together! LOL… I like! U look so young and fresh and CANTIK!!

    Eh – TREE POSE! yays! (Yesh the skirt is SO cute lor! From where har? Macam red indian!)

  2. You so pretty!!!!

  3. yesh, eat, eat and more eating. FUN!! aiyoh, when you come back, we must go to Coffee Bean again! Hehehehe! 😀

  4. Glad your break off work was an awesome one..mesti hangout again so can makan-makan like we did 😀

  5. deannnaaa!!!!!.. u so kurussss!!!!!!.. wahhh!!!!.. u look diff lahhh!!!.. and oh yeah.. i remember that ‘hair cut’.. buduh oh we all kan.. that’s not the point.. the point is.. I LIKE UR NEW LOOK!!!!!.. wahh!!!.. i agree with shizz… u loook fresh lah!!.. wah.. new year new you!!!… Nway.. glad u enjoyed home.. and the food of course.. keep up ur cantikness!!!..

  6. +shis: the skirt is from kk. i love it to death. 😛

    +lerie: awwwwwwww! you also cantik! 🙂

    +ju: tulah kan. and this time, ISLANDS hahahahah 🙂

    +tina: oyes! haiyah lapar.

    +vie: hahahahahahahahaha thank you chervie!

  7. cie cie cie…rambut nya bagus dong… yes yes yes short hair is good!!! malah better!!! hehe!!!

Leave a Reply

