Curry Potatoes with Veggie Mutton & Kim Ong’s Ginger Chicken – served with chilled Japanese green noodles!

When I read Kim Ong’s Ginger Chicken with Tea Noodles, I knew I had to try it.

And I did! πŸ™‚

img_2591

Compare it with Kim Ong’s dish:

n501362468_1457001_2645

Source: Kim Ong

Instead of tea noodles, I used Japanese Green noodles (a packet costs 20 baht from Happy Mart). And instead of paprika, I put Indian masala (tiny bit though! They’re quite spicy). I basically followed her recipe (click HERE) and yes, it did turn out quite well (I deep-fried the chicken instead of stir fry though). I also served the noodles chilled, and I agree with Kim – it tasted really good!

I would probably say that I need to improve in the marinating process. There were some parts of the chicken that tasted ‘okay’ – I’m sure it’s because I didn’t marinate it well (I compared it with another piece of chicken and it almost tasted like KFC, I swear!).

And this is my first time using Sesame Oil and I TELL YA – that makes THE DISH. Seriously! All this while when I make noodles, I know something ‘is missing’. And for me, that’s SESAME OIL. I feel that it makes the dish tastes more Chinese :).

img_25881

I’ve been dreaming to try out a curry potato dish. I did, and I’m happy to say that it tasted quite delicious! Below are the ingredients:

Good for two
1 potato, diced/cubed (you can cut however you want)
1 small bowl of diced veggie mutton (or meat, you can use anything you want)
3 small cloves of garlic, diced (although I think you should use onions instead)
Coconut milk
Curry powder
Salt
Ground pepper
Spring onions

After oil is heated, throw in the diced garlic (or sliced onions). Sauteed it, then put in salt, pepper and curry powder. After mixing for awhile, put in the mutton and the potatoes and continue mixing. Pour in water (if you want gravy, put in lotsssss of water), add in about another two teaspoons of curry powder and then put the pan on medium heat. Cover the pan. Maybe about the next 10 minutes or so, check the potatoes by putting a fork through it (if the fork goes through the potatoes without much effort from you, the potatoes are done). After these steps, you can pretty much modify according to how soft you want the potatoes and mutton to be. If you want it softer, then let it simmer longer. Pour in the coconut milk (put in a little first…you can always add in later if you want more milk). After a few minutes, turn off the fire. Sprinkle spring onions all over the dish.

Just for your information, I think I let my curry potatoes dish simmer for 20-30 minutes (not so sure on the accuracy of time because I was preparing the other dish simultaneously).

I’m so happy about my dishes today. My Saturday can’t be any more better than this! Gotta perfect these dishes so I can invite friends over :).

6 responses to “Curry Potatoes with Veggie Mutton & Kim Ong’s Ginger Chicken – served with chilled Japanese green noodles!

  1. Omg, so cool! Glad you loved the green noodles and the ginger chicken. The ginger tastes so good with the chicken ya. And for the noodles, sesame oil works really well. You can try marinating it next time too with anything. I reckon sesame oil works well with chicken and lamb chop! Cold noodles – only this type of noodles and pasta works well ya. I’m not gonna deep fry one of these days when I eat alone, myjojo would detest. Hehe. Keep me updated on your food adventures.

  2. Pingback: It’s kim ong (dot) com. » Blog Archive » Bad Dream & A Sexy Scooter

  3. I meant to say I AM going to deep fry one of these days when I eat alone. Hehe.

  4. +kim: Oyes, I love the ginger kick in the chicken, hahaha. I bet it’ll go well with beef too (you know, like ginger beef rice…yumm). Fried chicken is indeed deeeeeeeeeelicous πŸ™‚ I’m enjoying your recipes – keep them coming! πŸ™‚

  5. Ooh Dee..That looked delicious! Gotta try this. I’m craving for some noodles already! πŸ™‚ Yup, I have to agree with the sesame oil. I use it a lot especially during CNY! πŸ™‚

  6. +aims: gee thanks! I just visited your blog (and I’m going to comment in a few minutes) and haiyoh, I almost drooled on my laptop just looking at your dishes! πŸ™‚ will patiently wait for your recipes in ala hobbits. πŸ™‚

    sesame oil is the magic, bebeh! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

