My first attempt on Fried Mee Hoon – and it was successful!

Wah I can’t be more happy than to succeed at another of my favorite Malaysian dish – mee hoon (a type of noodle dish)!

^___________________^ (grinning widely)

img000016

1 small garlic clove
1/4 Carrot (cut into long and thin strips)
Lettuce (cut into long and thin strips)
Vege fish ball (medium slices)
1 egg (beat, mix light soy sauce and ground pepper in it)
Spring onions (OYES Chinese influence!)
Mee hoon (soak mee hoon into water…I think I soaked mine for 2 hours. Do not get vermicelli – the taste and texture is so different!))
Light soy sauce
Sesame oil
Olive oil (you can use any kind of oil, it’s up to you. I just decided to be more healthy haha)
and a mental visualization on how mee hoon supposed to look like…hehehe

I’m sure there are dozens of ways on how you can cook mee hoon. For me, I wanted to separate the content (sorry too much Newsbyte) vege fish ball, carrot, lettuce and egg from the mee hoon itself, so I prepared that first.

Vege fish ball, carrot, lettuce and egg
1. Put in oil.
2. Put in garlic. Stir awhile.
3. When garlic turned slightly brown, put in carrot. Stir awhile.
4. Then put in lettuce and vege fish ball.
5. Put in light soy sauce.
6. Stir, stir, stir!
7. Taste it. When it’s ready, put aside. Now, it’s egg time! šŸ™‚
8. Put in egg mixture (make sure it’s beaten already)
9. Make an omelette! šŸ™‚
10. When done, put aside.

Fried Mee Hoon
1. Put in oil.
2. Put in mee hoon.

Okay, before I go on, let me tell you what happened. I completely forgot about the whole oil-water mix, so when I just lifted the (dripping) wet mee hoon above the wok, the oil in the wok went crazy! Then my memory triggered. So what I did was I tried to air dry the mee hoon as much as I can (as fast as I can too, because I was so hungry! Haha). And I also pour out some of the olive oil into a small cup (which I used later). After that, things went much smoothly!

3. Okay this is where the whole visualization comes in – visualize how a typical mee hoon would be served at your aunt’s place or at your favorite Chinese/Malay restaurant. I visualized a particular mee hoon dish from one of the local food courts in KK, and immediately I pour in the light soy sauce and sesame oil to suit the picture I had in mind. I think you definitely have to put more soy sauce compared to sesame oil. Then mix well with the mee hoon! šŸ™‚

You got to taste the mee hoon too because it can become too salty. I tasted mine – the color was almost there (Ohohoho yes color is verrrrrrrrrrry important! Mee hoon should be dark brown, in my opinion), BUT the taste was not quite there yet. So I put more soy sauce. And then, it was perfect-o!

img000017
The sesame oil and the soy sauce that I used. The soy sauce is from Malaysiaaaaaaaaaaaa!!! šŸ™‚

(oh my, I think cooks really put a lot of soy sauce in mee hoon. Which reminds me when Shimona told me that I’d be surprised the amount of salt people put in fried rice. Hmm hmm.)

Just in case you’re not sure how mee hoon looks like, here’s the type that I bought:

img000018

img000019
I’m using my webcam. It’s actually better quality compared to my phone (which is spoiled beyond measure…that’s another story)

What I also did
1. Cut the omelette into long and thin strips (mental visualization…for me, this is how fried mee hoon supposed to look like)
2. Toss spring onions all over mee hoon.

Now let’s take a look again at the end result:

img000016

I felt like a happy kid when eating the fried mee hoon. Happy memories of me on a Sunday afternoon, sitting on my usual white stool in the kitchen back home, the light streaming through the open windows, onto the sink and bouncing off on the counter behind me, and I eating my Popo’s homemade mee hoon with my feet dangling crazily away from the floor came flooding in.

There’s just something about cooking – the cutting, the figuring-out what sauces to put and making them gel together, the preparation, the tasting AND eating – that makes me happy.

I’m glad my spirit is back.

PS – I came across having difficulty of separating the mee hon strips from one another. While cooking, they seemed to stick together…I was thinking whether I should put water or oil. I think I just put more oil. Uhm, it didn’t really improve the situation, but it could be because I put just little oil. For those who have experience, what should I do to get the mee hoon ‘unstuck’?

6 responses to “My first attempt on Fried Mee Hoon – and it was successful!

  1. Dee, am so proud of you! šŸ˜€ very happy your spirit’s back too, hehehe, so syok mau baca your masak2 posts!

    and the kicap, is it cap ayam? the best! hhahahaha šŸ˜€ (don’t buy cap kuda…..) hihihihihihi

  2. hahahah!!! memang hebat lah you….better again you buka kantin at my school lah Bie =D

  3. hi dee! so fun lah to read your blog! šŸ™‚ good job w/ the meehoon! it’s my fav ‘lazy’ dish to cook and pack for school, hehe. not sure why you have the sticking issue :/…i usually soak the noodles in hot water for 20-30 minutes (until they’re limp)…maybe try that?

  4. +ju: awww thanks thanks! tulah kan from a girl who takut2 mau stand near the panas wok to this…it’s an accomplishment sudah. hahaha. šŸ™‚ patutlah last time you all siokkkkk berabis mau masak! šŸ™‚

    oyes, completely cap ayam! psst i didn’t know there was a cap kuda…

    +zhe: hahahaha…alang2 we quit and just buka kedai kopi lah. betul2 malas suda ni.

  5. hey lisa! thanks for dropping by, hehe. yabahkan…i try lah that nanti ah hehe šŸ™‚

  6. HIIIII!!! nanti saya pigi supermarket beli mee…saya pun mau cuba….

Leave a Reply

