First experience dining at Muak Lek’s Gold Plus restaurant

You thought being in a small town for 7 years, you have experienced almost everything local.

satulah
Like visiting the Italian restaurant/cafe Primo Posto Del Khao Yai 20 minutes away from campus.

dualah
Or discovering the most awesome Thai cha yen EVER and green vege noodles with Thai prick pau sauce about 10 minutes away from campus.

But nope.

I have not experienced everything local, and you know what, that’s alright. In fact, it’s Awesome! Because having opportunities for new adventures/new things to explore keep my life colorful and fresh! πŸ™‚

So yesterday evening, Julie brought me to GOLD PLUS restaurant, an endearing lovely place located outside of the highway.

IMG_4246 copy
(yeah, I took this picture before going home hehe)

If you have been in Thailand long enough, you’d realize that a nice Thai restaurant usually have a nature-themed atmosphere going on. And GOLD PLUS is one of them.

IMG_4237 copy
The entrance of the restaurant.

After they took down our orders, we decided to explore the place a little bit. They have a wooden stairway leading to a higher level with more tables and chairs, and another higher level where there is a private room for exclusive groups (though I find it a little dusty). Also, there’s a balcony so you could sort of see a bigger picture of the place.

IMG_4238 copy
Here’s the view from the balcony. Nice ya?

Say hi to Julie! πŸ™‚

IMG_4239 copy

So that was the restaurant…and how about the food?

Whoaahh I like, I like!

We ordered four dishes, and I’ll introduce them as we go along.

Below: Hong Kong chinese noodles, and the Green Apple salad.

IMG_4241 copy

The chinese noodles were lovely! Definitely had the taste of how a Chinese dish should be πŸ™‚ And as for the Apple salad, I was actually a little surprised. I had a picture in mind, and when it came, it looked like a som-tum inspired salad.

And you know what – not only the appearance, but even the taste is som-tum inspired! I know it sounds weird but the Thai fusion combination worked! I enjoyed savoring this dish =) =) =)

The 3rd dish we had was Miso soup. The warm liquid with a touch of seaweed and toufu settled just right, especially when the weather rained a little bit and was quite windy later at night.

But I got to draw your attention at our 4th dish – the Fettuccine with…THAI GREEN CURRY.

f

This (another) Thai fusion dish may sound weird, may look weird…but I tell you.

It taste sooooooo delicious! You know how you have spaghetti with basil leaves? I say this is 10x BETTER. The curry has a bit of creamish texture, which I really like and thus, gels well with the pasta. Credits to Julie for recommending this dish. I never look at Fettucine and Thai green curry the same way again.

IMG_4244 copy

Price wise was good too. Our meal cost almost 500 baht. For the ambiance and the food, I’d say it’s worth it. πŸ™‚

IMG_4245 copy
A cute napkin holder. Thai people are so creative!

It was a great experience to dine at GOLD PLUS. I’d definitely come back here again! Now, I just need to learn how to ride a bike…

IMG_4247 copy
The landmark from the highway that you need to spot to enter GOLD PLUS. If you’re on the highway, just stay on the left and you should spot the landmark in minutes.

The experience was even made more awesome because of good company πŸ™‚

IMG_4240 copy

Julie, I will miss you! Am so glad you came to MC. I’m sure we will cross path in the future =)

3 responses to “First experience dining at Muak Lek’s Gold Plus restaurant

  1. Hey, so when will you publish the authoritative restaurant review of central Thailand? πŸ™‚ I’m glad you enjoyed the place. Yes, our paths will cross again!

  2. sungguh seronok!!!

  3. kita harus pergi sana! hehehehe

Leave a Reply

