Sharing my favorite inspirational quotes

My favorite logo/web/graphic designer Jacob Cass shared responses towards his Twitter on “What’s your favorite inspirational quote”.

He shared about 40+ quotes and here are some of my favorites:

mcAIU (formerly MC) at Muak Lek

1. “Unless you move, the place where you are is the place where you will always be.” ~Ashleigh Brilliant
Note: DEANNA, MOVE. You’ve been in Muak Lek far too long (7 years+!)

2. “Do what you love to do, but don’t do it to the point where you don’t love it anymore.”
Note: I’m concerned for those who loved what they’re doing, but slowly burning out. Don’t burn out! Hang on.

3. “I don’t want to be one of those who say ‘I wish I had’. I want to be one of those who say ‘I’m glad I did’.”
Note: Deanna, be brave! Take courage. Take a leap lah you adui.

4. “Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.”
Note: This is the ultimate dream.

xmas

Designing MC Christmas card using Adobe Illustrator for the 1st time.

5. “To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.” ~ Joseph Chilton Pearce
Note: Deanna, don’t be afraid of making mistakes. It’s okay. Let go of that perfectionist-a attitude.

6. “Be a fountain, not a drain.” ~Rex Hudler
Note: Don’t be stagnant, Deanna. Move it! Always think of what you could do better.

7. “Graphic design is the spit and polish but not the shoe.” ~Ellen Lupton
Note: The learning process, Deanna. The Journey.

8. “Don’t get set into one form, adapt it and build your own, and let it grow, be like water.” ~Li Zhènfan
Note: Don’t be a drain – be a fountain!

newsbiteMy very first Newsbyte. Cried a lot especially in the first few months; people calling it names and whatnot. But with lots of trials and errors and perseverance, fast forward 3 years and Newsbyte news and design does not look like how it first came out. We came a long way.

9. “Success is falling down 7 times but getting up 8.”
Note: Persevere. This is going to be hard…

10. “Nothing is original. Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination.” ~Jim Jarmush
Note: Continue blog-surfing. Read up. See what others in the field have done. Always want to keep learning.

11. “Nothing is original. Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination.” ~Jim Jarmush
Note: Continue blog-surfing. Read up. See what others in the field have done. Always want to keep learning.

12. “Keep her lit” ~Anyone from Northern Ireland
Note: My point exactly (refer #11)

bloglinesSubscribed to dozens of blogs and sites that promote inspiration, design and creativity. I use Bloglines to handle my rss reads 🙂

13. “Art is creativity, creativity is passion, passion is love.” ~Andrew Brynjulson.
Note: I think I know my passion, but I’m a little afraid. I mean, what if what you think is your passion is not your passion? What if I’m wrong? Argh…life.

14.“Design that doesn’t take a chance doesn’t stand a chance”
Note: TAKE A CHANCE lah, Deanna haiyoh you really scared is it

15.“In order to know what is right, you’ve got to know what is wrong.”
Self-explanatory

16.“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~Mark Twain

Note: Refer #3.

me at joggerthonJoining my first 5km jogging-marathon called Joggerthon in February 2008. Also my first medal for a ‘sports’ activity.

See more inspirational quotes here

13 responses to “Sharing my favorite inspirational quotes

  1. I enjoyed reading your little notes, keep it up!

    PS. My name is Jacob, not Jason – don’t worry your not the first.

  2. Oops, sorry! I’ve edited your name already 🙂

    Thanks for dropping by!

  3. Shimona LIKES this post. :p

  4. Just love reading the quotes! 😀 btw, sudah official itu AIU? and kau ikut marathon? wahh! 🙂

  5. official sudah itu dong, hihi. we’re having the ceremony in aug, but yeah we’re AIU sudah tu 🙂 boleh spread the news dengan semangat! 🙂

    haiyah itu marathon long time ago one…hhihiihhiih 🙂

  6. ohhh…so true.Grow…grow…grow…hehehe

  7. I like #1, #10 and #15. Another of my favorites is:

    And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.
    Abraham Lincoln

  8. Love the quotes, especially the first few lah. The rest are for you web and designer peeps =) Does make me think also lah about what am I suppose to do. Thanks! =)

  9. Nice lah the Newsbyte! Who say my sister buruk, mari sini dulu. Sia bagi buku lima dulu! WAhkakakakak! =D

  10. +steph: agreed! 🙂 thanks for dropping by! :0

    +zhe: lol on buku 5 (took me awhile to ‘get it’) haha

  11. I like #5…. and I would say the same thing to myself… don’t be afraid of making mistakes and trying new things. But when it comes to new things that other people will see… that’s hard to try!!! but hey…. I guess I’m already working on that right? lol… let’s see how my first try ends up hehe

  12. Pingback: if I say so » Blog Archive » Sharing my favorite inspirational quotes

Leave a Reply

